On Emotions and Machines

View previous topic View next topic Go down

On Emotions and Machines

Post  The Lady Branwyn on Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:55 am

There are many interesting machines where I work...

I work as a lab tech in a smallish hospital laboratory. It sounds delightfully, devilishly steampunk, but alas, it's not. I think the Powers That Be have must have made it a goal to take something as inherently interesting as a clinical laboratory and design it to be as utterly mundane as possible. Even our dress! Lab coats in general are inherently useful, attractive, and somewhat steamy, if you think of the normal long white coat with lapels and buttons. But alas, ours are hideous lavender and periwinkle zippered monstrosities, without even the decency of a single button, lapel, or proper breast pocket.

But I digress.

There are many interesting machines in this laboratory where I work. Well, sure, the designers of these machines did work in an absolute maximum of beige and gray plastic and not a single one of them has a shiny brass switch, snaking copper tube, or even rusty jaggedy edge of metal to redeem it aesthetically... but the designers could not hide their intrisically interesting mechanisms.